Burkett named top softball coach, Ramsey top player
by By Kevin J. Keller Special to the County Press
02:00 PM, Thursday, August 27
Ask any South Texas softball coach who is the hardest out in the area, and you’ll find that a majority of them will give you the same answer: Gregory-Portland’s Kiani Ramsey. With a unique blend of speed, bat control and power, Ramsey frustrated j...

Latest Sports Headlines

Refugio teens medal at Junior Olympics
NORFOLK – Two Refugio teens medaled in the Junior Olympics held Aug. 1-8 in Norfolk, Virginia. Alexa Valenzuela and T...
02:00 PM, Tuesday, August 25
full story
Bobcats ready for the road to Houston
It is a long time until December, and the Refugio Bobcats know it. The state title ends in Houston’s NRG Stadium, and...
10:00 AM, Friday, August 21
full story
Eagles look to end drought with a district title
WOODSBORO – It has been approximately 27 years since the Woodsboro Eagles have won an outright district championship....
10:00 AM, Thursday, August 20
full story
Refugio ISD announces 2015 football ticket sales schedule
Contributed information REFUGIO – Current football season ticket holders will be able to purchase reserve tickets for...
10:00 AM, Tuesday, August 11
full story
Local youth attend Hooks camp
Contributed information CORPUS CHRISTI – Payton Lewis and Aden Davis of Bayside, were among 40 children who attended ...
10:00 AM, Wednesday, July 15
full story
Summer track comes to a halt
Contributed information WOODSBORO – Woodsboro hosted the last meet in the summer track series where surrounding South...
10:00 AM, Wednesday, July 08
full story
Fifteen county athletes make All-District 31-AA baseball team
REFUGIO COUNTY – Fifteen county athletes were selected for the All-District 31-AA baseball team for the 2015 season. ...
10:00 AM, Friday, June 26
full story
Niemann named to the 2015 Class 2A All-State softball team
WOODSBORO – The Texas Girls Coaches Association announced the 2015 Class 2A All-State softball team Monday, June 8. E...
10:00 AM, Tuesday, June 16
full story
Woodsboro 7th and 8th grade place in district tourney
PORT ARANSAS –Monday, May 11, the Woodsboro Junior High tennis team travelled to Port Aransas for the district tourna...
11:00 AM, Friday, June 12
full story
Woodsboro athletes receive awards at booster banquet
WOODSBORO – The Woodsboro All-Sports Booster Club Sports banquet was held Tuesday, May 19, at the Refugio County Comm...
10:00 AM, Wednesday, June 10
full story
Bobcats bound for regional finals
CUERO – Refugio returned to the regional semifinal round for the first time since 2001. An ace performance by Cole Va...
10:00 AM, Tuesday, June 09
full story
Lady Eagles participate in annual Crossroads HS All-Star Game
VICTORIA – The Lady Eagles were recently well-represented in the annual Crossroads High School All-Star Game sponsore...
10:00 AM, Monday, June 08
full story
Bobcats beat Badgers, move on to regional semisf
ROBSTOWN – Tyler Castellano went 1-2 as the Refugio Bobcats took home a 4-1 victory over Ben Bolt in seven innings Fr...
02:00 PM, Friday, June 05
full story
Niemann and Vega selected for all-academic team
WOODSBORO – Seniors Anna Vega and Hannah Niemann of Woodsboro High School were recognized by The Texas High School Co...
02:00 PM, Wednesday, June 03
full story
Wills takes second in state track meet
AUSTIN – The Refugio Boys and Girls track athletes competed in the Class 2A state meet in Austin Friday and Saturday,...
10:00 AM, Monday, May 25
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« Loadedsnare wrote on Saturday, Aug 29 at 06:13 AM »
« pokerchip wrote on Sunday, Aug 23 at 09:15 AM »
« pokerchip wrote on Saturday, Aug 22 at 08:41 PM »
« pollo wrote on Wednesday, Aug 19 at 06:49 AM »