Nixon-Smiley stuns Woodsboro in season opener
by By Henry Balderamas Special to the County Press
10:00 AM, Friday, September 12
NIXON – The Nixon-Smiley Mustangs used a time consuming running game to keep the Eagle offense off the field and stunned the Eagles 28-7 in the season opener for both teams. “We made some mistakes that cost us, but they are definitely fixable,” sa...

Latest Sports Headlines

Brenda Sustaita competes at state powerlifting meet
CORPUS CHRISTI - Lady Cat Brenda Sustaita competed at the State Power Lifting meet at the American Bank Center in Cor...
02:00 AM, Wednesday, April 03
full story
Woodsboro Eagles score personal best in Alice tourney
ALICE – The Eagles and Lady Eagles were both blessed with great weather conditions on March 18-19, which contributed ...
02:00 AM, Wednesday, March 27
full story
Lady Cats softball hits hard to take down the Panthers
REFUGIO – Refugio Lady Cats Varsity softball and Aransas Pass Panthers volleyed the lead five times on Monday, March ...
02:00 PM, Tuesday, March 26
full story
Bobcat powerlifter heads to regional meet in Bishop
YORKTOWN - Refugio Bobcat powerlifter Alex Valdez will head to Bishop to compete in the region five boys powerlifting...
02:00 PM, Wednesday, March 13
full story
RHS Bobcats’ tennis launches first serves
ORANGE GROVE – Last week the JV Bobcat team travelled Orange Grove. Travis Anzaldua placed 1st in JV boys singles and...
02:00 PM, Tuesday, March 12
full story
Lady Cat lifter state bound
KINGSVILLE - Brenda Sustatia competed at the Regional Powerlifting meet on Saturday, March 2, in Kingsville. She qual...
02:00 PM, Monday, March 11
full story
Eagles claim area title
BEEVILLE — It was a great performance out of both teams. Woodsboro shoots 72 percent from the free throw line to defe...
02:00 AM, Wednesday, March 06
full story
Eagles place second in Palacios
PALACIOS — The Eagles placed second at the Turtle Creek Golf Course in Palacios, on Monday, Feb. 25, after battling r...
02:00 PM, Tuesday, March 05
full story
WHS Lady Eagles end season as area qualifiers
WEIMER — Another fine season for the Woodsboro Lady Eagles basketball team has come to an end. The Lady Eagles were d...
02:00 PM, Wednesday, February 27
full story
Sports Writers Association names Refugio, Woodsboro player...
REFUGIO COUNTY – Refugio Bobcat offensive lineman John Wesley Shipp and wide receiver Marcus Thompson were recently n...
02:00 PM, Tuesday, February 26
full story
Eagle signing Bonner heading to North Dakota
Woodsboro Eagle Debray Bonner signs with Minot State in North Dakota on Wednesday, Feb. 6. Pictured are Regina Brown-...
02:00 PM, Wednesday, February 20
full story
Lady Eagles Bi-District champs, out-roar Lions
WOODSBORO - The Woodsboro Lady Eagles continued their impressive basketball season with a thrilling and hard-fought v...
02:00 PM, Tuesday, February 19
full story
Refugio Bobcat football ranked No. 1
REFUGIO — The Refugio Bobcats have been ranked No. 1 for the 2013 football season according to the Dave Campbell’s Te...
02:00 PM, Friday, February 08
full story
Lady Eagles pound Port Aransas girls
WOODSBORO — Last Thursday night, Jan. 24, the Lady Eagles came out big and won both games against Port Aransas. The 8...
02:00 PM, Wednesday, February 06
full story
Bobcats dominate in basketball
REFUGIO — The Bobcats met up with Tidehaven on Tuesday, Jan. 15. The boys jumped out to an early lead as the first qu...
02:00 PM, Tuesday, February 05
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« manning120 wrote on Tuesday, Sep 16 at 06:22 PM »
« bassethoundrule wrote on Sunday, Sep 14 at 09:12 PM »
« Homefree77 wrote on Saturday, Sep 13 at 12:48 PM »
« Sarah27 wrote on Saturday, Sep 06 at 07:33 AM »