Bobcats scuttle Pirates in home opener, 42-27
by By Billy Swinney Special To The County Press
10:00 AM, Thursday, September 18
The last time Refugio and Mathis met on the gridiron was in 2007, and the Bobcats dished out a 42-27 victory over the Pirates. This past Friday night, the Pirates didn’t have it any easier as the Cats handed over a home cooked bashing by a score o...

Latest Sports Headlines

Local Football Scores November 30 - Playoffs
Refugio 49, Lexington 21 - FINAL (For the Quarter Finals the Refugio Bobcats will play East Bernard in San Marcos Fri...
10:14 PM, Friday, November 30
full story
Running the gauntlet
Last week, the Bobcats burst into the playoffs with a win over Rogers to begin what Herring calls “the gauntlet.” “As...
02:00 PM, Thursday, November 29
full story
Local karate academy awarded top school, multiple highest ...
REFUGIO — The Refugio Karate Academy beat out 17 other martial arts schools from throughout the Coastal Bend to take ...
02:00 PM, Monday, November 26
full story
Woodsboro Eagles batter Bruni Badgers
KINGSVILLE –The Woodsboro Eagles spotted the Bruni Badgers 14 points and stormed back to win 36-21 in the area round ...
04:07 PM, Friday, November 23
full story
Danny Kelso named Texas Wildlife Officer of the Year
AUSTIN ­— Texas Parks and Wildlife Game Warden Danny Kelso of Tivoli has been recognized as Texas Wildlife Officer of...
02:00 PM, Wednesday, November 21
full story
Woodsboro ends curse
WOODSBORO — The Woodsboro Eagles ended a 24-season curse last Thursday night in New Braunfels. Whatever caused the te...
10:14 AM, Wednesday, November 21
full story
Eagles swat Hornets, move back into playoffs
WOODSBORO- The Woodsboro Eagles capped off their most successful season in several years and punched their ticket to ...
02:00 PM, Tuesday, November 20
full story
Refugio stumps Skidmore in Bobcat showdown
REFUGIO — A widely known thought is that Bobcats are territorial and will defend their home against other Bobcats. Th...
02:00 PM, Monday, November 19
full story
Eagles thunder into area round of playoffs
NEW BRAUNFELS — The Woodsboro Eagles broke what could be called a curse in sports circles Thursday night in New Braun...
10:38 AM, Friday, November 16
full story
Refugio, Woodsboro and Other Local Football Scores Nov. 9
Falls City 46, Runge 0 - FINAL Karnes City 34, Dilley 0 - FINAL Beeville 41, Tuloso-Midway 13 - FINAL Refugio 84, Ski...
10:48 PM, Friday, November 09
full story
Refugio and Other Local Football Scores Nov. 2
The No. 1 ranked Refugio Bobcats blasted Santa Gertrudis 70 to 0, The second half featured mostly reserves that also ...
09:48 PM, Friday, November 02
full story
Refugio, Woodsboro and Other Local Football Scores Oct. 26
Woodsboro Eagles vs. Falls City Woodsboro gave up 14 early points and fought back, but fell short to the Falls City B...
10:14 PM, Friday, October 26
full story
Eagles fall short in defensive battle with Runge
WOODSBORO – The Woodsboro Eagles and the Runge Yellow Jackets came into the district opener Friday night unbeaten and...
02:00 PM, Wednesday, October 24
full story
Woodsboro, Refugio and other local football scores October 19
Woodsboro Plucks Pettus Eagles Quarterback Tyler Quesada ran for three touchdowns and threw for two more to lead his ...
10:42 PM, Friday, October 19
full story
Eagles bash Benavides for home, sweet homecoming
WOODSBORO — It was a homecoming to remember that ended with a 53-6 bashing of Benavides. Earlier in the day, the annu...
02:00 PM, Tuesday, October 16
full story

Popular Stories

Recent Comments

« manning120 wrote on Tuesday, Sep 16 at 06:22 PM »
« bassethoundrule wrote on Sunday, Sep 14 at 09:12 PM »
« Homefree77 wrote on Saturday, Sep 13 at 12:48 PM »
« Sarah27 wrote on Saturday, Sep 06 at 07:33 AM »