Lozano loses Bee County but wins Republican nomination for state representative
Jul 31, 2012 | 1133 views | 0 0 comments | 9 9 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Bee County voters selected Bill T. Wilson as their Republican nominee for District 43 state representative ­— in contrast to the districtwide results.

Incumbent J.M. Lozano received 514 votes locally with 3,252 in the four-county district.

Wilson received 629 votes locally with 2,754 overall.

These are unofficial totals.

Lozano, being the districtwide winner, will face Democratic nominee Gonzalez Toureilles in November.

This is the representative seat formally held by José Aliseda – well sort of – until the district maps were redrawn and Bee County was moved to District 43.

Aliseda announced earlier that he would not be seeking re-election and was opting to run for district attorney here.

The current prosecutor, Martha Warner, is not seeking re-election to the position, and Aliseda does not have an opponent in November.

U.S. senator

On the Republican ticket, David Dewhurst received 688 votes locally, while Ted Cruz received 464 votes. Statewide, Dewhurst received 43.19 percent votes compared to 56.80 percent to Cruz.

On the Democratic ticket, Paul Sadler received 178 local votes, while Grady Yarbrough received 129 votes.

Sadler received 63.09 percent of the statewide vote, while Yarbrough received 36.90 percent.

U.S. representative of District 34

In the race for Republican nomination for U.S. representative of District 34, Adela Garza received 650 votes in Bee County, and Jessica Puente Bradshaw received 482 votes.

Across the district, Garza received 44.65 percent of the vote and Bradshaw 55.34 percent.

On the Democratic ticket, Filemon Vela received 230 local votes and Denise Saenz-Blanchard 95 votes.

Vela received 66.63 percent over the district and Saenz-Blanchard 33.36.

Railroad commissioner

In the race for railroad commissioner, Republican Christi Craddick squared off against Warren Chisum.

Craddick won 417 local votes and 59.75 percent of the statewide votes.

Chisum won 725 local votes and 40.24 percent of the statewide votes.

Likewise, the Republican race for railroad commissioner, filling an unexpired term, pitted Barry Smitherman against Greg Parker.

Smitherman won 544 local votes and 62.19 percent of the statewide votes.

Parker won 473 local votes and 37.80 percent of the statewide votes.

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 4

For the Republican nomination of justice, Supreme Court, Place 4, David Medina faced John Devine.

Medina won 442 local votes and 46.69 percent of the statewide votes.

Devine won 613 local votes and 53.30 percent.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet