Arnaud claims Bean-Dirks pro-am title
BCC amateur club champ defeats pros in skins game
Jun 21, 2008 | 1586 views | 0 0 comments | 8 8 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Michael Arnaud of Beaumont defeated 29 other golf professionals in the 36-hole 2008 Bean-Dirks Pro-Am Golf Tournament at the Beeville Country Club last weekend.

Arnaud fired a sizzling 36-hole total of 128 (16 under par) with rounds of 63 and 65 to hold off Austin’s Lonny Alexander and claim the $5,000 first place check. Alexander followed up an opening round of 64 with a 67 for a 36-hole total of 131 (13 under par) to earn second place money of $2,500.

Andy Connell finished third with a two-day total of 134 while Jaime Gomez carded a 135 total for fourth in the pros’ competition.

The 2008 Beeville Country Club amateur champion, Julius Gonzales, birdied two key carryover holes (including the first extra hole) to win $8,333 of the skins total purse of $10,000 for the Bean-Dirks Scholarship Fund. Gonzales cashed in with birdies on hole No. 7 for $5,333 and then again on the first extra hole (No. 10) for $3,000 that goes to the scholarship fund that benefits the students from Bee and Live Oak counties.

In addition to the 36-hole individual pro event and skins game, separate pro-am competitions were held on Saturday and Sunday. Saturday’s event had 150 competitors and Sunday’s tourney had 60 golfers participating.

In Saturday’s competition, the first place team was led by pro Arnaud and those joining him included W. Marshall, S. Meyers, S. Scott and L. Marshall. The second place team had pro A. Connell teamed with J. Arredondo, T. Beck, C. West and M. Bueller.

The rest of Saturday’s results are as follows:

Third place: E. Nini, C. Merritt, M. Sykes, M. Sykes and A. Sykes. Fourth place: A. Rodriguez, R. Meyers, D. Nicholson, M. Schoenbrun and D. Keller. Fifth place: K. Jerome, B. Schauer, J. Fox, G. Sassin and D. Hutchins. Sixth place: J. Gomez, S. Bond, T. Taylor, J.O. Bond and J. Bond. Seventh place: J. Zamora, R. Vestal, A. Hause, F. Hause and J. Belch. Eighth place: M. McCaffrey, D. McGee, C. Bednorz, J. Wallace and C. Lacy.

Sunday’s pro-am results included: First place - Jaime Gomez and Jean Ann Beasley, 124. Second place - Michael Arnaud and Cory Brooke, 126. Third place - Bryan Novoa and Jerry Kolb, 127. Fourth place - Gabe Reynolds and Malcolm Edmiston, 130. Fifth place - Chris Callas and Trevor Beck, 130. Sixth place - Anthony Rodriguez and Joe Wright, 130. Seventh place - Lonny Alexander and Craig Billman, 131.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet