Gamma Omicron Chapter of DKG celebrates 71st birthday
Apr 16, 2011 | 757 views | 0 0 comments | 3 3 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The Gamma Omicron Chapter of the Delta Kappa Gamma Society International met at Kenedy Middle School on April 2, to celebrate its 71st birthday. The chapter was chartered in Kenedy on April 20, 1940, at the Goff Hotel.

The meeting was hosted by Kenedy members, and the tables were decorated with pictures showing people and events of the 1940s. Also on display were fashions from that era and the uniform worn by member Ruth Hollman when she served in the WACS during World War II. As members arrived, they enjoyed muffins, fruit, coffee and orange juice.

Before conducting the business of the chapter, a Ceremony of Remembrance was held for Marjorie Huff. Heather Gisler, Jan Anderson and Gretchen Dupnik gave the readings and spoke of Mrs. Huff’s involvement in Delta Kappa Gamma and her special place in Gamma Omicron Chapter. Betty Thornton, membership chairman, recognized the April birthdays, and Laura Veth was the recipient of the door prize. The Achievement Award Committee recognized the officers of the chapter for their service and awarded them goodie bags of cookies prepared by Marie Meadows.

Michelle Luna of Three Rivers and Kelsey Stulting of Karnes City are this year’s recipients of the book grants which the Gamma Omicron Chapter awards each year to senior girls planning to go into education. Each girl will receive a $400 book grant. The chapter also awards a $400 grant-in-aid to a young woman finishing her sophomore year in college who plans to be an educator. Irene Zimmer, professional affairs chairman, presented the recommendations for the grant sent in by the various town groups. The membership voted to award the grant-in-aid to Jenna Diaz of Kenedy. Aide Lopez, World Fellowship chairman, updated the members on the DKG Fellowships which allow women educators from foreign countries to study in the U.S. and Canada.

Recognitions from state were reported. The state organization has presented the Five Star Award for an Outstanding Newsletter to the chapter, and the chapter yearbook received an Exemplary Award. Susie Kotara is the newsletter editor, and Pam Burge is responsible for the yearbook.

In other business, the chapter voted to pay the registration fee of any member who attends this summer’s state convention in McAllen.

Lana Massengale, Gretchen Dupnik and Jan Anderson presented the program, taking a look at American life in the year 1940, and reviewing Gamma Omicron’s history during its first decade. The chapter began with the 12 women who signed the charter creating Gamma Omicron on April 20, 1940: Hilda E. Smith of Falls City, Grace Oetken Lockhart of Runge, Erixene Ruckman of Normanna, Dora Conrads of Karnes City, Mae Hallmark of Kenedy, Marie Peterson Weiss of Runge, Roberta Bailey of Helena, Nola Y. Jones of Karnes City, Martha Helmers of Beeville, Dorothy Willbern Timmerman of Runge and two honorary members, Ella Dromgoole and Addie Lee Koenig of Runge. After the conclusion of the program, members enjoyed a birthday cake decorated with red roses to celebrate the occasion.

Some members stayed after the meeting adjourned to learn how to create the bookmarks the chapter will be selling at the state convention. Pam Burge and Pam Kerlick provided the instruction and are the leaders of this project.

The Delta Kappa Gamma Society seeks to advance the professional interest and position of women in education.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet