Rotary hears about Texas Mile, scholarships
Jun 22, 2011 | 1285 views | 0 0 comments | 4 4 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Guest speakers for the Beeville Rotary during May were Shannon Matus, Kirby Townsend and Joyce Lee, Jo Anne Brooks and Boyd Bauer.

Matus, co-owner and director of the Texas Mile and J&S Matus Motorsports Inc., presented facts of the one-mile land race. This is the first race held here in Beeville since the move from the Goliad facilities. It is one of seven recognized land speed races in the world.

Matus presented their logo, mission statement, inspiration and impact on the community. The Mile began with 35 participants in October 2003 and has grown to 252 registered participants (as of January 2011).

There are now 20 paid staff and 30 volunteers who run the event. Three thousand spectators and motorists come from 22 states, as well as from Spain, Canada, Japan and England, to enjoy the Texas Mile.

The Mile rents and buys things from the area, if possible, and uses the local radio and PA systems. More information and upcoming events can be found at

Bauer presented a slide show on the evolution of Memorial Day. It began in the South, with ladies placing flowers on Civil War graves. In May 1868, Gen. John Logan proclaimed it Decoration Day. This was the first national recognition and was for all those who died in the Civil War. The day became part of the National Holiday Act of 1971. The flag is to be flown at half-mast until noon. At 3 p.m., a national moment of remembrance is honored by a moment of silence or TAPS.

Brooks is a jewelry designer from Laredo. She was stricken with polio at the age of 4, which left her right arm and hand and left arm completely paralyzed. Jo Anne has a great collection of intricate necklaces, bracelets and earrings. She makes the jewelry with her feet. She says,

“My goal is to try to do something with my life that makes a difference in other people’s lives, whether that be by jewelry or something else.”

Lee and Townsend presented the Interact Club from A.C. Jones High School, in which there are approximately 20 members. Each student received an Interact pin.

The officers were presented, and Lee announced the Rotary scholarship recipients which included A.C. Jones students Melody Shane, Hannah Stasny, Nick Waters, Caleb Traylor and Ellen Addison. The recipient from Pettus High School was James Constante, and the recipient from Skidmore-Tynan was William Stridde.

Norma Teague from Oak Park Memorial Funeral Home was inducted as a new member.

Visitors included Isabel Ramirez from the Bee County Chamber of Commerce; Jimmy Martinez Jr., mayor of Beeville; Jessica with the Texas Mile, Dr. O.B. Vaughan, Markham Benn, Dean Hinderman and Monica De La Garza.

Beeville Rotary meets every Wednesday at noon at the Beeville Country Club. Visit for more information.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet