National Junior Honor Society conducts induction ceremony
May 12, 2010 | 1261 views | 0 0 comments | 9 9 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Principal Jean Blankenship presents NJHS award to 7th-grade inductee Zerina Boyd.
view slideshow (2 images)
On Tuesday evening, May 4, Moreno Middle School held its National Junior Honor Society induction ceremony. Guest speaker for the evening was Adrian Jackson, Coastal Bend College public affairs specialist.

Speaking to the students on the importance of having an idea, a dream to assist them in making things happen, Jackson told them that everything in life begins with an idea. She added an idea is something that begins a series of events, giving one an opportunity to make choices to become successful.

The evening was exciting for the new inductees, their parents and extended families.

Lisa Latcham, NJHS sponsor, told the students she was proud of their accomplishments and thanked them for all their hard work.

Principal Jean Blankenship reminded the inductees that they were not only there because of their grades but also because of the assistance of their parents and families. She also told the audience that there sat the top 10 percent of Moreno’s students, and from them the salutatorian and valedictorian would one day be selected.

Those honored are students who have made sacrifices and good choices; they know the importance of learning.

The NJHS inductees are:

2010 new members

8th grade

Andréa Angel Briseño, Courtney G. Bristow, Dustin C. Chaney, Andy Dang, Heather E. Fairbanks, Andrea Gaitan, Amanda Puga, Geraldine M. Reyna, Nicholas C. Rodriguez, Samantha N. Salazar, Estella B. Sanchez, Lorenzo T. Serna, Abigail E. Silva.

7th grade

Anika Barbosa, Nathaniel C. Barris, Angelika M. Benavidez, Marquez A. Bowman, Lorina Boyd, Angela Cardenas, Sara Camille Casas, Sarah Deleon, Eduardo DelosReyes, Rebecca De los Santos, Stephanie Amber Garcia, Jesse Garza, Yolanda Marie Garza, Ryan Gonzales, Vanessa Gonzales, Jonathan Gutierrez, Clarissa Ibarra, Juanito Ibarra, Cameron H. Kremers, William Landreth, Lindsey Lawson, Emily Lehmberg, Sydnie Lynne Maguire, Mandy Maldonado, Alyssa Orozco, Christina Richey, Parker Roberson, Aaron Rodriguez, Bianca Rodriguez, Hailey Marie Ruiz, Taylor Sain, Joshua Salazar, Jenna Salinas, Joshua Schwindth, Teresa Trevino.

Current members

David D. Amador, Alyssa N. Bates*, Daven S. Blankenship, Brandon K. Cox, Sarah S. Draper*, Lynnzey A. Garcia, Krystal L. Garcia, Anaka J. Gonzales, Sabrina A. Gonzales, Sean P. Hatfield, Dolores N. Hinojosa*, Jordan M. Hinostroza, Julissa R. Martinez, Jacqueline J. Pace, Lynnsey B. Richey, Alfredo Rodriguez III, Marissa F. Rodriguez, Amber C. Salazar, Tyler J. Stewart, Kennedy K. Trevino*, Christina A. Valdez, Curt S. Villarreal, Austin B. Wallace*.

* Officers

Honorary members

Leonel Alvarez, Alexandera Bernal, Richard A. Moreno.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet