Rotary hears update on Rialto, Barnhart Library
Jul 16, 2010 | 787 views | 0 0 comments | 8 8 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The Beeville Rotary Club had several informational guest speakers for their June meetings, including Mark Parsons, president of the Hall-Rialto Preservation Association; Steve Clegg, director of the Joe Barnhart Bee County Library; Joe Humphreys, business advisor of the Small Business Development Center (sponsored by the University of Houston-Victoria); and Jane Duryea, chairperson of the Fine Arts and Kinesiology Division of Coastal Bend College.

Parsons updated the group on the refurbishing progress of the Rialto Theater. The theater is a historic landmark and is one of the eight Texas theaters on the National Register. It was built in 1922. W.C. Stevenson was the architect for the theater and the Bee County Courthouse. The theater is planned to be used as a multicultural entertainment center.

Clegg and Jackie Bartha, youth services librarian, gave an update on the library’s summer programs. The Summer State Reading Program and Earning By Learning reading program are in full swing. The library had its first annual summer reading party — which was a great success — with 280 children and youths attending. The library hosts different activities every day, including computer classes. An adult book club will begin in the fall. The library is open 58 hours per week and has 9,000 plus active library cards.

Humphreys spoke of the services offered for new and existing businesses. The SBDC makes it easy for rural business owners by taking services to the outlying counties. Some of the services offered are business planning, training workshops and seminars. There is no cost and strict confidentiality for the business owner. A business advisor visits Beeville at the Bee County Chamber of Commerce each month.

Ms. Duryea expanded on the continuing education with emphasis on the glass-blowing workshops offered at the college.

The installation of Beeville Rotary officers and board members for 2010-2011 were presented on June 30 with Starr Bauer, assistant district Rotarian governor, inducting the officers and board members.

Many visitors attended during June. Among these were Juliet Manaud, Laurie Cook, Jerry and Betty Quitly of Seguin, Chris Rivers, Maverick Quintana, Dr. O.B. Vaughan, Evelyn Seals, Betty Davis, Cactus Schroeder, Leah Gipson, Karen Sutton, Rick Fink, Kayla Ready, Sadie Rodriguez and Rotary scholarship recipients Neta McMullen and Cliff Davis.

The Paul Harris award recipients for the month of June included Mark Parsons, Tani Mitchell and Ralph McMullen.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet