Gamma Omicron Chapter begins spirited new year
Sep 19, 2010 | 954 views | 0 0 comments | 8 8 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Gamma Omicron members kicked off their chapter year with a pep rally as they met at Faith Lutheran Church on Saturday, Sept. 11. Hostesses for the meeting were the Beeville C group, who had prepared a delicious brunch for the members.

President Jan Anderson conducted a remembrance ceremony for Ann Reader Richmond. Ann had served as president of Gamma Omicron from 1992-1994 and had been a 25-year member of the organization. Robert Frost’s poem “The Road Not Taken” was read and a solo flute rendition of “Amazing Grace” was played by Irene Perez.

From among the 16 members with perfect attendance last year, Erie Head’s name was drawn to have her current membership dues paid by the chapter. Marjorie Huff was the lucky recipient of the door prize. Scholarship Chairman Donna Patton reminded the members the $500 Mini-Grant from the state organization has an Oct. 1 application deadline. Sharon Lee recognized Catherine Thornton, recipient of the Bell Award at A.C. Jones H.S. last May, and four Beeville members with school service awards: Karen Knowlton, 20 years of service, Lisa Latcham, 20 years of service, Margie Ann Awalt, 25 years of service, and Pam Jeanes, 35 years of service. The budget for the coming year, prepared by Treasurer Thornton, was adopted by the members.

When the business meeting ended the “pep rally” began with team captain (1st Vice President) Lana Massengale telling the Gamma Omicron team that a good year was anticipated. Anderson presented awards earned at the Delta Kappa Gamma State Convention in June to the following: Susie Kotara – Five Star Status for Outstanding Newsletter; Pam Burge – Exemplary Award for Chapter Yearbook; the entire team – Annie Award for outstanding program and the PACE Award for chapter excellence.

Assistant coach Sharon Lee recognized key players from last year and noted their 100 percent attendance at meetings. Receiving perfect attendance pins were Betty Bleeker, Erie Head, Doris Kuhnert, Myrtle Lucke, Denese Martin, Falba Jo Roberts, Betty Thornton and Irene Zimmer of Beeville, Gretchen Dupnik and Marie Ortiz-Fernandez of Karnes City and Jan Anderson, Pam Burge, Ruth Hollman, Pam Kerlick, Donna Patton and Laura Veth of Kenedy.

Assistant coach Betty Thornton encouraged the team to recruit new members and offered guidelines for seeking out the ideal member. The “band” offered a spirited performance of “I’m A Delta Kappa Gamma, Yes I Am,” led by Irene Perez. The Spirit Bell Challenge was competitive and eventually won by the Beeville C group. Head cheerleader (Ceremonies Chairman) Gretchen Dupnik led the Gamma Omicron team in a recommitment cheer of the seven purposes of the Delta Kappa Gamma Society. The pep rally ended with the singing of the fight song – The Delta Kappa Gamma Song.

The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International is a professional honor society of women educators. The society promotes professional and personal growth of its members and excellence in education.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet