Delta Kappa Gamma meets, announces officers
Feb 16, 2012 | 927 views | 0 0 comments | 3 3 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The members of Gamma Omicron Chapter of the Delta Kappa Gamma Society International came away from their February 4th meeting with computer videos they had prepared using the Animoto program. Holly Polasek provided instruction on the process as members worked at computers in the Karnes City High School library. Holly had loaded each computer with pictures from past Gamma Omicron meetings and other Society events for the members to choose from as they created their individual videos. CPE credit was available for those members who signed up for it. The session provided members with the information necessary to create video slide shows with music that can be used in their classrooms or elsewhere.

As members arrived for the meeting they were treated to a delicious brunch provided by the Karnes City/ Runge town group. At 9:30 President Jan Anderson called the meeting to order and welcomed the 25 members present. Also in attendance were Desiree and Tiffany Gonzales, grand-daughters of member Erie Head. The meeting began with a Ceremony of Remembrance for Gracie Franklin. Mrs. Franklin was initiated into Delta Kappa Gamma in 1970 and had served Gamma Omicron Chapter in many capacities, including President. Several members shared their memories of Mrs. Franklin.

Kathy Morgan presented a thought provoking devotional for the day, with Proverbs 9:9 being the focal passage. The Pledge to the flag was led by Debbie Witte. Betty Thornton, Membership Chairman, recognized members with February and March birthdays. In the door prize drawing she presented Ruth Hollman and Sharon Lee with cupcakes she had baked and Delma Manka and Jan Anderson received appliquéd items created by Phyllis Vaughan. Catherine Thornton received a box of chocolates from Sharon Lee of the Achievement Awards Committee. In her remarks to Treasurer Catherine, Mrs. Lee said the chapter recognizes what a “treasure” she is. Donna Patton reported local schools now have the information about the book grants the chapter offers, and reminded members of the scholarship opportunities available from the state Delta Kappa Gamma organization. Jan Anderson gave information regarding the Alpha State Texas Education Foundation Grant. Gretchen Dupnik, Chairman of the Nominating Committee, presented the 2012-2014 slate of officers for the members to vote on. Elected unanimously were: President – Lana Massengale; First Vice-President – Pam Burge; Second Vice-President – Pam Kerlick; Recording Secretary – Laura Veth; and Corresponding Secretary – Gretchen Dupnik. The new officers will be installed at the May meeting.

Announcements were made regarding future DKG events. The 83rd State Convention will be June 21-23 in Irving. Members can find information in the Winter 2011 Lone Star News, available online at the website. The Area 4 Workshop will be in Victoria on August 11. The April 14 chapter meeting will be a trip to San Antonio to tour the Southwest School of Art campus. Information regarding the April meeting will be sent out to members. The business portion of the meeting concluded with the singing of the Delta Kappa Gamma song. Members then moved to computers to begin learning the Animoto program. Mrs. Polasek provided each member with a detailed handout to follow as she gave instructions at the smartboard. Members then created their own video slideshows.

The mission of Delta Kappa Gamma is to promote the professional and personal growth of women educators and excellence in education. Attending the meeting from Karnes City and Kenedy were Gretchen Dupnik, Susie Kotara, Kathy Morgan, Jennifer Gonzales, Holly Polasek, Debbie Witte, Sabrina Lewallen, Jan Anderson, Pam Burge, Ruth Hollman, Delma Manka, Pam Kerlick, Donna Patton, Irene Perez, Laura Veth and Elizabeth Reno.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet