Gamma Omicron awards grants, installs officers
May 10, 2012 | 644 views | 0 0 comments | 4 4 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Donna Patton of Gamma Omicron Chapter presents $400 book grants to Bethany San Miguel of Beeville and Jeanette Ramirez of Runge and a $400 grant-in-aid to Melissa Lopez of Karnes City.
view image
Gamma Omicron Chapter of the Delta Kappa Gamma Society International welcomed the recipients of their chapter book grants and grant-in-aid to their May 5 meeting. Selected to receive $400 book grants were Bethany San Miguel of Beeville and Jeanette Ramirez of Runge. Melissa Lopez of Karnes City received a $400 grant-in-aid. The girls were accompanied by family members to the meeting. The Beeville C town group hosted the meeting at Faith Lutheran Church in Beeville and prepared a delicious brunch for those assembled to enjoy.

In addition to the grants presented, other recognitions were made. The chapter has been notified that their yearbook has been recognized as exemplary by the state organization and the chapter newsletter has received the Five Star Award. Pam Burge and Susie Kotara respectively are responsible for these publications. A $500 mini-grant from the state organization has been awarded to Carol Williams for conference travel and classroom supplies. The Achievement Award Committee presented Jan Anderson with the Gamma Omicron Achievement Award for her service to the chapter. Mrs. Anderson has served the last four years as chapter president. In a Ceremony of Remembrance members fondly recalled Ruth Hollman as teacher, friend and Delta Kappa Gamma sister.

In other chapter business members voted to have the chapter pay the $50 registration fee for any member who attends the state convention June 21-23 in Irving, and members were reminded to participate in the United for Reading project at the convention. It was announced the Area 4 Workshop will be held at Industrial High School in Vanderbilt on August 11. Members who plan to attend need to contact Jan Anderson before June 29.

Gretchen Dupnik, chairman of the Ceremonies Committee, assisted by Holly Polasek, Erie Head and Marilyn Hanna presented the Founder’s Day program. On May 11, 1929 Dr. Annie Webb Blanton and 11 other women educators founded the Delta Kappa Gamma organization. The program, entitled “Gifts From The Heart,” recounted the legacies of these women. The efforts of the individual Founders helped to improve the status of women in education. Their vision continues today, and the mission statement of the organization remains “to promote professional and personal growth of women educators and excellence in education.”

The meeting concluded with the installation of the 2012-2014 officers by Alpha Pi President Joyce Ann Warwas of Nordheim. Presented a President’s pin was Lana Massengale and installed along with her were Pam Burge, 1st Vice-President; Pam Kerlick, 2nd Vice-President; Laura Veth, Recording Secretary; and Gretchen Dupnik, Corresponding Secretary. The members of Gamma Omicron congratulated the new officers and joined together for the singing of the Delta Kappa Gamma song.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet