Refugio, Woodsboro, Austwell, RISD, WISD have contested races
Mar 19, 2009 | 1804 views | 0 0 comments | 11 11 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Monday was the last day to file as a write-in candidate for local elections that will be held on May 9.

The towns of Refugio, Woodsboro, Bayside and Austwell; the three school districts, the hospital district, and Refugio County WCID #2 each have positions with terms that will expire.

After the deadline for a place on the ballot, candidates may file as a write-in candidate until Monday, March 16.

The positions up for election and candidates who have filed as of press time include:


Mayor Rey Jaso (I), William H. Bill Rayburn, Richard Ramirez, Jennifer Ragle, write-in candidate

Alderman, place 1, Karen Watts (I)

Alderman, place 2, Ruben Garcia (I), Garrett Engelking


Mayor George Hernandez (I), Joseph Hernandez, Carl Arnold (Larry Jochetz withdrew his name from the mayor’s race and filed to run again for alderman, place 1)

Alderman, place 1, Larry Jochetz (I), Erasmo Escamilla

Alderman, place 2, Debra Bolcik, (I), Elizabeth Gonzales

Alderman, place 5, Jimmy Blaschke (I-unexpired term), Cynthia Fernandez


Councilmember, place 1, Eugene Fricks (I)

Councilmember, place 4, Leonard Spanjers (I)

Councilmember, place 5, Gloria Derrough (I)


Commissioner Sandra Mahan (I), Donald Denton

Refugio ISD

Trustee, single member district 2, Rene Garcia

Trustee, single member district 4, Dr. Gary Wright, Addie Ochoa, write-in candidate (Incumbent Rita Trojcak withdrew her name from the race)

Only registered voters in single-member districts 2 and 4 are eligible to vote in the May 9 election.

Woodsboro ISD

Trustee, place 3, Calvin Wilson (I), Amanda Nixon, Mario Hernandez

Trustee, place 4, Henry Fierova (I), Keith Doug Chesnutt, Raymond Cisneros

Trustee, place 5, Jeff Gillespie (I), James Jochetz

Austwell-Tivoli ISD

Board member, place1, Angela Lutz

Board member, place 2, Chris Camacho

Refugio Memorial Hospital District

Director, place 5, Jerry Lockett (I)

Director, place 6, Ronald Boerner (I)

Director, place 7, Kenneth Wright (I)

Refugio County WCID #2

Director Edward J. Ermis (I)

Director Robert Neil Haertig (I-unexpired term)
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet