Gamma Omicron Chapter review several key education bills
Feb 13, 2013 | 1083 views | 0 0 comments | 5 5 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Dr. Sue Thomas, Beeville ISD Superintendent, presented a very informative program for members of Gamma Omicron Chapter of the Delta Kappa Gamma Society International on Saturday, Feb. 2. Dr. Thomas reviewed several key bills that have been filed in the Texas Legislature regarding education. She noted that 111 education bills have thus far been filed in the House and 37 in the Senate. Internet sources for information about the 83rd Legislature include The Texas Tribune: and The Texas Legislature Online: Superintendent Thomas urged members to contact their state legislators to make their positions known, and Pam Burge provided members with contact information for both national and state representatives. The chapter appreciated Mrs. Thomas’s very enlightening presentation.

During the business portion of the meeting Scholarship Chairman Betty Thornton reported that book grant information had been sent to the area high schools. Each year Gamma Omicron awards two $400 book grants to female graduates who plan to enter the field of education. Jan Anderson, World Fellowship Chairman, reported on DKG World Fellowship recipient Oyunsuren Damdinsuren of Mongolia who is working on an advanced degree at Texas A&M University. The World Fellowship Program provides women from foreign countries the opportunity to study in the United States or Canada.

Pam Kerlick recognized chapter members with February and March birthdays. Chapter President Lana Massengale reported on the state convention which will be held June 20 -22 in Austin, inviting members to make plans to attend for a day if unable to be there the entire time. The unifying project for this year’s convention will be providing school supplies for early childhood and middle school students in the central Texas area. Gamma Omicron members will be able to bring their contributions for the unifying project to the April and May meetings. Corresponding Secretary Gretchen Dupnik read a thank you note from the South Texas Children’s Home for the donation made at Christmas and members shared good news with one another as “brags” from the brag bag were read. The meeting ended with the singing of the Delta Kappa Gamma Song.

The Beeville B group provided a breakfast buffet of casseroles, pigs in a blanket and fresh fruit. The next Gamma Omicron meeting will be April 6 in Kenedy at the elementary school. Delta Kappa Gamma is a professional honorary society for women educators that promotes the professional and personal growth of its members and excellence in education.

In attendance from Beeville were Lana Massengale, Erie Head, Evelyn Jeanes, Pam Jeanes, Sarah Jaure, Monica Blackwell, Betty Thornton, Catherine Thornton, Betty Bleeker, Falba Jo Roberts, Frieda Hartzendorf, Doris Kuhnert, Margie Ann Awalt and Myrtle Lucke. Attending from Karnes County were Irene Perez, Jennifer Gonzales, Gretchen Dupnik, Myrna Foster, Susie Kotara, Sabrina Lewallen, Pam Burge, Pam Kerlick, Jan Anderson, Frances Eckols, Linda Vegh, and Jennifer Azopardi.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet