Five freshmen picked for Kolb scholarships
Apr 19, 2014 | 942 views | 0 0 comments | 16 16 recommendations | email to a friend | print
GOLIAD – Goliad High School has announced the 2014 freshman recipients of the Luther T. Kolb Sr. Scholarship.

Four students were selected to receive a $5,000 scholarship upon graduation. This year’s recipients are Rhett Davis, Makayla Janssen, Sarah Koehne, and Casey Tislow.

Goliad High School would like to say a special thank you to Mr. and Mrs. John Kolb of Goliad for the generous contributions made to GHS students over the years through the scholarship program.

Interviewers for the Luther T. Kolb scholarship were Diane Delay, Tish Robinson and Suzie Warzecha, all residents of Goliad. The award process was coordinated by Pamela Hailey, the Goliad High School Dean of Student Services.

The selections were based on each student’s academic records, leadership ability, community service, and potential for future academic achievement.

This year, the John Kolb family requested one scholarship be awarded in loving memory of Don Delay. Davis was selected to receive the first Don Delay Memorial Scholarship for Goliad High School.

The family of Luther Thomas Kolb Sr., established an endowment fund for scholarships in 2003. Kolb was a successful businessman for many years, first in Sinton and later in Portland, where he was owner of the L.T. Kolb Chevrolet dealership. Scholarships have also been awarded in his honor at Sinton High School, where he at one time served as the Chairman of the Sinton ISD School Board. The Luther T. Kolb Scholarship Fund has awarded numerous scholarships to South Texas students since 2003.

Thirty-six scholarships have been awarded to students at Goliad High School, totaling $180,000 in the past seven years. Student scholarships are awarded at the completion of their senior year providing they complete all academic course work, maintain satisfactory grades, and continue a good record of personal conduct. Each scholarship can be applied towards college tuition over a four year period.

The top-10 finalists were Cameron Reyes, Tislow, Kayla Stock, Kendall Muehlstein, Megan Albrecht, Michala Janssen, Neilon Reitz, Davis, Sarah Koehne and Tallis Butler. Other nominees by the teaching staff were Carley Shockley, Dillon Williams, Jade Reyna, Kylee Robinson and Orion Hosey.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet