A.C. Jones players honored at basketball banquet
by Bruce Harper
May 27, 2014 | 328 views | 0 0 comments | 10 10 recommendations | email to a friend | print
BEEVILLE – The Trojan and Lady Trojan basketball programs held their honorees banquet on Tuesday night and several players were selected for season-long awards presented by their respective head coaches.

Trojan head coach Mike Luce presented four individual awards. The Defensive Player of the Year award went to senior guard Cody Vasquez. Vasquez was almost always given the duty of guarding the other team’s top scorer at either guard or wing position.

The Most Improved award went to guard Jonathan Moses, a pure outside shooter who could be counted on to light it up from the outside or deal it inside to the front court players.

The Offensive Player of the Year and Most Valuable Player award went to senior post Tyler Stewart. In most games, Stewart led the team in scoring with points coming from inside and from around the foul line on short jumpers. The 6-3 center presented the opposing teams problems with his jumping ability and deft play around the rim.

Both the freshman and junior varsity squads were acknowledged for their hard work and success this past season.

First year Lady Trojan head coach Lisa Hess fielded a young team this year and the freshman and JV squads drew praise for their hard work. The varsity girls battled all year and competed against much larger schools in district play but were competitive and gathered a few wins.

The Newcomer of the Year award was presented to freshman Jocelyn Guzman. The starting post player showed signs of being a tough rebounder and a scoring threat in the coming seasons.

The Most Improved award went to sophomore front court player Margaret Downing. As the games dwindled down at season’s end, Downing became a go-to player off the bench for coach Hess, both for her defense and awakening offense prowess.

The Fighting Heart award was shared by two players: senior Cheyenne Del Bosque and sophomore Mackenzie Harvey. Del Bosque battled through a knee injury to return to the team. Harvey was all hustle and battled taller and stronger girls to a standstill all season long.

The Offensive Player of the Year Award went to sophomore guard Audrey Carranco. Her soft jumper and daring drives almost always put points on the scoreboard.

Senior Marissa Rodriguez was selected as the team’s Defensive Player. Rodriguez employed her quickness and knowledge of the game to harass the opposition at all times.

The Most Valuable Player award went to junior forward Ciara Garcia. The strong inside presence was a problem for opposing teams all year long. When single-teamed, Garcia could be counted on for a easy double-double in points and rebounds. When double-teamed late in the season, her stats dipped a bit but by being on the floor and drawing so much attention it opened up other players.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet