A.C. Jones Choir earns end-of-year awards
Jun 05, 2009 | 1496 views | 0 0 comments | 8 8 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Seven of 10 vocal solos received silver medals at the state UIL solo contest held on the campus of the University of Texas at Austin on June 1.

Receiving the 2nd division ratings for their vocal solos were Yvonne Alaniz, Claire Duge, Jessica Maness, Chelsea Salinas, Tim Shane, Juan Gonzalez and Victor Hinojosa.

Matt Ortega was announced as the winner of the National Choral Award at the choir’s Spring Concert held on May 14.

Individual class medals were awarded to Yvonne Alaniz, Kristal Perez, Janel Gutierrez and Victor Hinojosa. Also recognized were those students who advanced to the state solo contest by virtue of winning 1st division gold medals at the region solo contest held last February. They included the above mentioned students plus Matt Ortega, Courtney Taylor, Kristal Perez and Joe Gomez.

TMEA Texas Scholar certificates were given out to students mentioned in an earlier story in the Bee-Pic. Students who received UIL scholar certificates included Yvonne Alaniz, Courtney Taylor, Victor Hinojosa, Tim Shane and Matt Ortega.

Once again, A.C. Jones High School vocal students exceled in singing, noted director Everett McAulay. Hopefully, this trend will continue as A.C. Jones will welcome a new choral director in the 2009-10 year, he said.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet