Two commissioners face opponents in March 2 primary election
by Scott Reese Willey
Nov 30, 2009 | 2139 views | 0 0 comments | 8 8 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Bee County Commissioners Susan Stasny and Ronnie Olivares will have opponents in the upcoming March primary.

Stasny, who represents Precinct 2, will face challenger Dennis DeWitt in the March 2 Republican primary election, and other candidates if they choose to run on the GOP ticket.

Olivares will face Porfino Longoria in the Democratic primary election, and others who choose to run on the Democratic ticket.

As of Tuesday, Nov. 24, the four candidates are among 12 individuals who have informally announced plans to run for county office this spring.

All 12 have filed applications for the announcement of campaign treasurers, the first step in running for public office.

The first day they or any other individual may file formal documents with their respective political parties is Dec. 3.

Deadline to file for office is Jan. 4.

The primary election is set for March 2.

Winners of the primary election may face opponents in the November general election.

Individuals who have informally announced plans to seek county office, the office they are seeking, and their party affiliation, if known, are:

• David Silva, Republican, Bee County judge.

• Mirella Escamilla Davis, Democrat, Bee County clerk.

• Dennis DeWitt, Republican, commissioner, Pct. 2.

• Susan Stasny, Republican, commissioner, Pct. 2.

• Ronnie Olivares, Democrat, commissioner Pct. 4.

• Porfino Longoria, party affiliation unknown, commissioner, Pct. 4.

• Raul G. Casarez, Democrat, Pct. 1 justice of the peace.

• Ted G. Staples, Democrat, Pct. 2 justice of the peace.

• Wesley Hinton, party affiliation unknown, Pct. 3 justice of the peace.

• David B. Garza, Democrat, Pct. 3 justice of the peace.

• Abelardo Abel Suniga, Pct. 3, Democrat, justice of the peace.

• Joseph Lyvers, Democrat, Pct. 4 justice of the peace.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet