April 6 marks start of Republican runoff election in Bee County
Mar 19, 2010 | 1505 views | 0 0 comments | 9 9 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Early voting in the Republican primary runoff election begins April 6 as voters decide who will be the next county commissioner for Precinct 2.

Voting in the commissioner’s courtroom of the Bee County Courthouse will continue through April 9. Hours are that Tuesday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Mirella Escamilla Davis, elections and county clerk, said that she expects a higher than normal voter turnout as residents decide who will be the next county commission for Precinct 2.

Incumbent Susan Stasny will face Dennis DeWitt in this race.

Stasny, who is seeking her sixth term of office, is being challenged by DeWitt, who oversees the Bee County Community Affairs Department.

Republicans cast 299 votes during the March primary in Stasny’s favor and 290 for DeWitt. Former Beeville Mayor Kenneth Chesshir drew 197 votes, which likely caused the runoff between his two Republican opponents.

A runoff election is required because none of the three candidates received 50 percent of the vote — a requirement when more than two candidates are on the ballot.

Because no Democrat candidate filed for office, the winner of the runoff election will be elected commissioner of Precinct 2 unless a write-in candidate throws a hat into the ring before the November general election.

Also on the ballot is the race for U.S. representative, District 15. Paul B. Haring is challenging Eddie Zamora.

During the March primaries, Haring of Victoria drew the most support with 46.6 percent of all votes cast, compared to 24 percent by Eddie Zamora.

Next on the ballot is the race for Supreme Court justice, Place 3. Rick Green and Debra Lehrmann are both on the ballot.

Only those who voted Republican during the primary or did not vote at all are able to cast a ballet during the runoff. Those voting Democrat or who signed a petition to have a Democrat placed on the ballot are not able to vote during this runoff election.

Regular voting will be April 13.

There is no Democratic runoff election this April.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet