Historical Commission receives Distinguished Service Award
Jun 04, 2010 | 1096 views | 0 0 comments | 11 11 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Bee County was recently honored by the Texas Historical Commission with their distinguished service award. The honor was presented in Houston during the THC conference. Shown in the photo, from left, are Aleene Green, Joanna O’Riley, Barbara Welder, Shirley O’Neil, George McCarty, Bill Newsom, Rita San Miguel and Kay Mix, all members of the Bee County Historical Commission.
view image
The Texas Historical Commission (THC) recently recognized Bee County with the 2009 Distinguished Service Award. The honor was presented in Houston during the THC conference.

The award recognized county historical commissions (CHCs) that have demonstrated a dedication to several of the THC’s programs as well as preservation efforts that lead to a greater understanding of state, national and local history.

“The commitment of the Bee County Historical Commission’s preservation efforts demonstrates an enthusiasm for saving the real places of Texas,” said THC Executive Director Mark Wolfe. “Your service has helped to enrich the lives of others through history, ensuring the preservation of our state’s past into the future.”

CHCs are a vital link in Texas’ preservation network and few other states have a built-in mechanism that makes possible a preservation organization in every county. Some of the exemplary efforts considered for the Distinguished Service Award include overseeing historical marker applications, recording oral histories, cemetery preservation, assisting Main Street programs and heritage tourism efforts and assisting local museums.

The Bee County Historical Commission has been commended for producing a dynamic and positive partnership with the THC to preserve Texas’ heritage for the use, education, enjoyment and economic benefit of present and future generations. Other responsibilities maintained by CHCs include the preservation of countless historic buildings, artifacts, documents and other pieces of Texas history.

The Bee County Historical Commission has received this prestigious award for five consecutive years.

Attending the conference from Bee County were Barbara Welder, chair, Shirley O’Neil, Aleene Green, Louise W. Hall and Mary Dougherty.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet