Henicke, Oxford win major TYRA Finals awards
by Jenny Henicke
Oct 26, 2011 | 1227 views | 0 0 comments | 3 3 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The Texas Youth Rodeo Association Finals were held July 26-30 in Gonzales. Pictured: Amber Rae Henicke, Cody Oxford, Chance Specht, Hondo Flores, Hudson Wallace, Bryon Oxford and Brady Jones.
view slideshow (3 images)
Live Oak County was well represented at this year’s Texas Youth Rodeo Association Finals. Finals were held July 26-30 in Gonzales.

The top 25 competitors in each event spend a week in Gonzales competing in two rounds and a short round to bring home the year end awards.

Amber Rae Henicke won fourth place year end senior girls goat tying, and winner of the Red Feather award. She also competed in ribbon roping along with partner Cody Oxford, pole bending, and in barrel racing.

Cody Oxford won a saddle and earned the bragging rights of the year end champion team roping heeler and placed sixth in ribbon roping. He was also awarded the Kent Shaw Award and received a buckle. Cody also competed in senior tiedown roping. Cody was also awarded a $1,250 college scholarship by TYRA.

Chance Specht came home with a year end reserve champion ribbon roping buckle, and competed in senior tiedown roping.

Hondo Flores cleaned up in the bull riding at the finals, he came home with the finals champion saddle and a year end reserve champion buckle. Hondo also competed in team roping.

Hudson Wallace placed fourth in senior tiedown and was the sixth place team roping heeler. Hudson also competed in ribbon roping.

Byron Oxford won the saddle and earned the bragging rights of the year end champion team roping header.

Brady Jones placed fifth in ribbon roping, sixth place in team roping on the heeling side and he also competed in senior tiedown.

Bringing home a buckle winning fourth place ribbon running was Jacy Johnson. She also competed in barrel racing and goat tying.

Others from Live Oak County that completed at the finals were Logan Quinn, Kyle Otto and Adan Flores. Logan competed in figure 8 barrels, goat tying and ribbon roping. Kyle Otto competed in senior tiedown, ribbon roping and team roping. Adan Flores competed in team roping.

The Red Feather is an award that is given to an incoming senior girl or boy and is based on the following, good sportsmanship, good horsemanship, a leader, a motivator, someone that’s shows good character and good morals, and all around good kid. Sadie Sacra of Needville chose Amber Rae to be this year’s Red Feather winner and next year Amber Rae will have the job of passing in the award to an incoming senior boy or girl.

The Kent Shaw award is awarded to a senior and is chosen by TYRA Board of Directors and is based on outstanding sportsmanship and horsemanship it was awarded to Cody Oxford. Both of these awards come with very high honors and both of the individuals work very hard and are very deserving of these awards.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet