Three Rivers High School inducts 12 students to National Honor Society
by Rita Arnst
Mar 19, 2009 | 2212 views | 0 0 comments | 11 11 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Three Rivers inducted 12 students to NHS. Pictured are, front row, left to right: Bradley Bellows; Saul Cruces; Kandace Escamilla; Jessica Hessong; Megan Johnson and April Lemos; back row, left to right: Jakelynn Crawford, HS Counselor and NHS faculty advisor; Kenneth Rhorbach, TRHS Principal; Lea Luna; Michelle Luna; Hannah McAfee; Jeremy Pape; Adrianna Sulaica; Lindsey Weber; Brian Zamzow, guest speaker; and Robin Curbello, NHS faculty advisor and HS librarian. See story Page 14A.
view image
Bradley Bellows, Saul Cruces, Kandace Escamilla, Jessica Hessong, Megan Johnson, April Lemos, Lea Luna, Michelle Luna, Hannah McAfee, Jeremy Pape, Adrianna Sulaica, and Lindsey Weber were inducted into the Three Rivers High School Chapter of National Honor Society on Thursday evening, March 12.

Prior to induction, the students were evaluated by members of the Faculty Council in the areas of scholarship, service, character, and leadership. NHS requires service to the community, school, or other organizations said Robin Curbello, NHS faculty advisor.

The guest speaker was Brian Zamzow, a 1992 graduate of TRHS and past president of NHS. Zamzow was co-valedictorian and an outstanding athlete. After high school Zamzow graduated from Texas A&M University in College Station.

“Being inducted into the National Honor Society is not easily accomplished. In addition to scholarship students are evaluated on character, service and leadership. These students on stage tonight definitely demonstrate those qualities,” said Zamzow.

“The great thing about these kids is that they don’t have to think about doing the right thing; they just do it. For this, not only do we recognize the students tonight, but we should also commend the parents, teachers, coaches and spiritual leaders that instilled these qualities in the students,” Zamzow stated.

Looking toward the inductees, Zamzow went on by saying, “These things you do may seem normal or ordinary, but let me tell you they are not normal or ordinary. You are extraordinary.”

“Working at the federal prison has given me a new appreciation of where I come from and what I have accomplished,” continued Zamzow. There are over a 1000 inmates at TR-FCI and most of them thought what they were doing was normal. For them, the places they came from, and the people they were surrounded by, appeared normal. They gave up on hard work and participated in shady activities with no regard to family. They thought what they were doing was normal, said Zamzow. “But there is no short cut to success,” concluded Zamzow.

Following Zamzow, Bo East, president of NHS, lead the officers in conducting the induction ceremony. He began by giving a brief account of NHS history, “The National Honor Society was conceived in 1921 by the National Association of Secondary School Principals to recognize and encourage scholastically outstanding high school students.”

Following East, NHS officers Rachel Dockery, Stephanie Saenz, Shelly Smith, Lindsey McNeill, and Sidney Wood led the candle lighting ceremony.

Other NHS members include: Kathy Calliham, Kameron Harless, Garret Luthringer, Bernie Morales, Preston Pennington, Veronica Yzaguirre, Krissy Arnst, Kelley Barker, Caitlin Curbello, Klare Escamilla, Colton House, Cami Hunter, Hayden Kopplin, Chris Martinez, Raquel Mendez, Jacob Moran, Crystal Poenisch, and Jonathan Sulaica.

At the conclusion of the ceremony, cookies and punch was served by the Little Acorn Study Club.

See Page 1A for group photo.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet