Editor of The Progress named to media honor roll
May 27, 2009 | 588 views | 0 0 comments | 8 8 recommendations | email to a friend | print
AUSTIN – Rita Arnst of The Progress was named to the Media Honor Roll, a program sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) and Three Rivers ISD.

The Media Honor Roll recognizes media representatives statewide who deserve recognition for fair and balanced reporting of news about public schools. Media representatives from newspapers and radio and television stations across Texas were honored by their local school districts.

Criteria for the district selection included the media representative’s efforts to get to know the superintendent, board president, and the district’s mission and goals; report school news in a fair, accurate, and balanced manner; give a high profile to positive news about schools; visit the schools; and maintain a policy of no surprises by sharing information with school officials.

“Districts across Texas appreciate these reporters for their balanced and accurate approach to sharing both the challenges facing our schools and the successes achieved by local teachers, students, and school boards. Their work aids local communities in focusing on the goal of providing the best public schools we can for every child, “said Robert Seward, TASB president.

In most cases, local school boards passed a formal resolution and presented a personalized certificate to their nominated media. Rita Arnst was presented a 2009 Media Honor Roll Certificate by Superintendent Mac Johanson at the May 18, 2009 Three Rivers ISD board meeting held in the school administration building.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet