Texas High School Coaches Academic All-State football team named
by Rita Arnst
Dec 24, 2008 | 3677 views | 0 0 comments | 16 16 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The Texas High School Coaches Association (THSCA) and State Farm Insurance are proud to announce the

THSCA Academic All-State Football teams for 2008-09. Three Rivers had four students that made the teams. They are Steven Curry, Honorable Mention, Kameron Harless, Honorable Mention, Garrett Luthringer, 1st Team, and Preston Pennington, 1st Team.

The teams are selected by a point system that awards points for GPA, class rank and SAT or ACT score. The student/athletes are then placed on teams according to the number of points they have earned. The Elite team represents the highest point total that can be achieved. Criteria required to be nominated is (1) a senior with an overall GPA of 92 or above, including grades 9-12 and the first six weeks of grade 12; (2) Be a member of the team in good standing at the time of nomination; (3) Be of good moral character. The program is in its 8th year and has steadily grown to over 2,000 applicants.

State Farm Insurance is in its second year as sponsor of the THSCA Academic All-State Football teams.

“State Farm is pleased to partner with the Texas High School Coaches Association,” said Ronnie Vandiver, Marketing Manager for State Farm. “The benefit the students receive by participating in these programs with such great role models is phenomenal,” he added.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet