Bobcats, Lady Cats earn postseason hoop honors Grimes selected as Coach of the Year
by Bruce Harper
Mar 02, 2011 | 644 views | 0 0 comments | 5 5 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The Skidmore-Tynan basketball seasons are over but the honors keep coming as both the Bobcats and Lady Cats garnered several all-district selections for the 2010-11 season.

The District 31-2A coaches selected Bobcat Zeke Huerta as their Newcomer of the Year. Two Bobcats were named to the all-district first team as Zach Mengers (a unanimous choice) and Rene Jimenez were both chosen to represent the ‘Cats.

Brandon East was selected to the second team and Erasmo Huerta received inclusion on the district’s honorable mention list.

The academic all-district team included Bobcats East, Erasmo Huerta, Jimenez, Ryan Scott and Jonathan Hernandez.

The Lady Cats were well represented on the all-district teams. The first team all-district squad included unanimous choice Brittany Garza and D’Anne Wilder. Celina Acosta earned the district’s Defensive Player of the Year award from the coaches.

Second team honorees included Lady Cats Amber Hughlett and Samantha Minter. Head coach Joseph Grimes III was selected as the district’s Coach of the Year for guiding the Lady Cats through a perfect district season record of 12-0.

The academic all-district team had Lady Cats Celina Acosta, Kathy Acosta, Mikaila Chambers, Garza, Hughlett, Tamara Merritt, Minter and Wilder among its members.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet