Skrobarcek upsets Mayor Pro Tem Dukes
May 17, 2012 | 2165 views | 0 0 comments | 10 10 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Kenda Nelson photo
Newly elected Refugio Councilman Dale Skrobarcek works at the family auto mechanic business which has been in operation for more than 50 years. Skrobarcek says he will be accessible  to the community.
view image
REFUGIO — All the incumbents in the Joint General Election retained their positions, with the exception of one.

Dale Skrobarcek upset Council member Wanda Dukes, who was also longtime mayor pro tem. Challenger Skrobarcek garnered 230 votes to Dukes’ 154.

“I started thinking about running several years ago, so my decision to run evolved from there,” Skrobarcek said.

The newly elected councilman said he was happy to have public support and will remain available to discuss his constituents’ concerns.

“I’ll always do the best I can to take care of the needs of the community,” he said.

Ned Aberly, who won his race to fill an open council position in Bayside, said his priority is creating unity in the Copano Bay community.

“If we all work together as a united community, we can grow our economy and avoid future tax increases,” Aberly said.

Aberly is a retired businessman who managed “multimillion dollar budgets,” he said.

The election included local races in Refugio, Refugio ISD, Woodsboro and Bayside.

Town of Refugio 401 votes cast of 1,851 registered voters. Of the total votes cast, 236 were during early voting.

Place 3

Bart Wales -173

Leonard“Lenny” Anzaldua - 209 (winner)

Place 4

Frank J. Hosey (I) - 322 (winner)

Place 5

Wanda H. Dukes (I) - 154

Dale Scrobarcek - 230 (winner)

Refugio ISD Board

Of the 286 votes cast, 167 were in early voting.

SMD 2: Rene Garcia (I) - 81 (winner)

Monica Y. Flores - 49

SMD 4: Gary Lee Wright (I) - 93 (winner)

Jennifer Perez-Lara - 61

Town of Woodsboro 62 votes cast of 1,026 registered voters. Of the 62 votes cast, 24 were during early voting.

Place 3

Minerva Cisneros (I) - 39

Place 4

Elix Ortiz (I) 33 (winner)

Carl Arnold - 27

Place 5

Jimmy Blaschke (I) - 44 (winner)

Town of Bayside 100 votes cast of 302 registered voters. Of the 100 votes cast, 18 were during early voting.


Ken Dahl (I) - 64 (winner)

Place 2

Ned Aberly - 59 (winner)

Francisco “Frank” K Briseno Jr. - 41

Place 3

Janet Christensen (I) - 70 (winner)

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet