Council elects new mayor
May 22, 2013 | 2397 views | 0 0 comments | 23 23 recommendations | email to a friend | print
City Council voted Tuesday evening to have David Carabajal, right, serve as mayor and Libby Spires serve as mayor pro tem. Carabajal was nominated for mayor by John Fulghum while Jimbo Martinez, then mayor, nominated Trace Morrill. Carabajal earned votes from John Fulghum, Spires and himself. Morrill got one vote: Martinez. Morrill abstained. Martinez did not get a nomination. “I’m speechless,” Carabajal simply said. He then proposed appointing a blue ribbon committee to look into the water situation and make recommendations for solving the looming problem and methods of funding and to report to the City Council ASAP. However, no committee was appointed as there was no item on the agenda for this action. Fulghum nominated Spires for mayor pro tem. No other nominations were made for that position. Spires was elected by affirmation.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet