Delta Kappa Gamma inducts new members at Fagan Ranch
Oct 23, 2008 | 1084 views | 0 0 comments | 5 5 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International Gamma Chapter met at the Fagan Ranch in Tivoli on Oct. 4. The Austwell and Tivoli members served as hostesses.

Breakfast was prepared by Chef Kurt Clements at Fagan House. President Marilyn Pagel called the meeting to order at 10 a.m.

Phyllis Neves of Austwell led the Pledge of Allegiance, and Margaret Kemp of Portland led the devotional. Kim Lawing of Rockport reported 20 members in attendance.

New members installed include Anne Mourtaja of Rockport, who is transferring from Kappa Alpha in Cypress-Fairbanks; Kathy Gyllenband and Lavenia Diaz, both of Tivoli, and teachers at Austwell/Tivoli Elementary.

The initiation of the new members was conducted by Ceremonial Chairman Kathy Feuerbacher. It concluded with the singing of the Delta Kappa Gamma Song.

Marilyn Pagel dispensed with the business meeting until after the program, The Society Symbols. Kathy Feuerbacher of Woodsboro, Susan Kovacs of Rockport and Rhonda Rosenauer of Sinton, presented information about the history and symbols of the Delta Kappa Gamma Society.

The program continued with a portion called Delta Kappa Gamma: Then and Now. Dr. Ann Lopez, Tomi Kennedy and Dee Ezell compared and contrasted chapter meetings present and past as well as reminiscing about some of the chapter founders.

The business meeting got underway at 10:40 a.m.

Joyce Cessac announced that the November meeting will be at the Portland Library. The Silent Auction at the meeting are to be items that the members made, baked or grew.

Members are reminded to bring boxed food items for the Area Food Pantries to each meeting, except for December. At that meeting, members will observe the tradition of bringing gifts for children at Driscoll Children’s Hospital.

Kim Lawing reported that the yearbooks will be ready soon.

Marilyn spotlighted Tomi Kennedy, who has been a long-time member; and announced that Dr. Ann Lopez will be the spotlights chairman for the year.

Door prize winners were Anna Mourtaja, Karen Walker and Kim Lawing, all of Rockport, Ann Lopez of Woodsboro, Margaret Kemp of Portland and Maggie Gibson of Sinton.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet