RHS Bobcat Band earns top scores at contest
Nov 13, 2008 | 873 views | 0 0 comments | 14 14 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The Refugio High School Bobcat Marching Band earned three across-the-board first place ratings from each one of the judges at the UIL Region 14 Marching contest in Robstown Saturday, Oct. 18.

Judges commented that the band gave a very musical performance. Music selections played during the contest included “Ovation,” “My Heart Will Go On”, from the movie “Titanic” and the “New World Symphony.”

Soloist was senior Blaze Glocar on trombone. Drum majors are Jenna Cordova, Jacob Cobb, and Fletcher Wright.

Class 2A bands are not allowed to advance to area this year, so this is the highest rating in marching the band can achieve.

“Congratulations on all your hard work,” said Marcie Raymond, band director. “ We are so very proud of the hard work the band students have done.”

This has been a transition year with new directors, Charles Horton and Raymond.

The band directors say they expect an even larger band next year. A large number of eighth-grade band members will be joining the band next year and only a small group of senior members will be lost to graduation.

“We would like to thank all the family and supporters who came to contest in support of the band’s performance,” Raymond said.

Future activities planned for the band include a Christmas Concert on Monday, Dec. 8, 2008, at the RHS Auditorium.

The sixth grade band, seventh and eighth grade bands, and the high school band will perform.

Band members include Michael Lerma, Brooke Williams, Brittani Wade, Cheyenne Foss, Ixtla Henderson, Ruben Ortiz, Vincent Cantu, Josh Alsop, Michael Escobar, Myranda Trentman, Rebecca Vasquez, Christina Dismang, Rachel Gonzales, Danielle Varela, Jessica Ruiz, Liz Hernandez, Christiana Boyer, Alesha Wills, Zuleika Martinez, Chelsea Lara, Haley Brynelson, Karina Arredondo, Amber Orman, Rochelle Hardiway, Rachel Van Dyke, Aaron Fellers, Kenny Boyer, Alicia Canchola, Mariela Hernandez, Brandon Thompson, Eric Porter, Josh Soto, Paul Boyer, Justin Padilla, Evan Klaevemann, Amber Garcia, Dante Leal, Isaias Silva, Josh Villarreal, Hannah Allison, Daniel Shay, Samantha Perez, Austin Castellano, Ricky Solis, Thomas Ramirez, Megan Shaw, Hailey Moehr, Jarrod LaFond, Josh Garcia, Blake Lynn, Blaze Glocar, Stephanie Ordaz, Janet Cordero, Ariel Davis, Sean Ponce, Michael Repka, Luis Alvarez, Randy Garcia, Michael Garcia and Gino Dodge.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet